Register you place in the virtual 2022 TCS London Marathon!

Essential facts


Chris Brasher and John Disley

First held

Marathon: 29 March 1981 (first wheelchair race: 1983)
Mini Marathon: 1986
Virtual Marathon: 2020
Length of course: 26.2 miles; 42.195K

First champions

Men: Inge Simonsen, (Nor), & Dick Beardsley, (USA)
Women: Joyce Smith, (GBR)

Reigning champions

  • Shura Kitata (ETH) crosses the finish line to win the Elite Men's Race
  • Brigid Kosgei (KEN) runs along The mall during the Elite Women's Race
  • Brent Lakatos (CAN) wins the Men’s Elite Wheelchair Race on The Mall
  • Nikita den Boer
  • Shura Kitata (ETH) crosses the finish line to win the Elite Men's Race

Men: Shura Kitata (ETH)

Most victories

Men: 4 (Eliud Kipchoge, KEN)
Women: 4 (Ingrid Kristiansen, NOR)
Wheelchair men: 8 (David Weir, GBR)
Wheelchair women: 6 (Tanni Grey-Thompson, GBR)

Most victories by country

Men: 15 (Kenya)
Women: 13 (Kenya)
Wheelchair men: 16 (Great Britain & NI)
Wheelchair women: 15 (Great Britain & NI)
Eliud Kipchoge

Course records

Men: 2:02:37 (Eliud Kipchoge, KEN, 2019)
Women (mixed): 2:15:25 (Paula Radcliffe, GBR, 2003)
Women only: 2:17:01 (Mary Keitany, KEN, 2017)
Wheelchair men: 1:28:56 (Kurt Fearnley, AUS, 2009)
Wheelchair women: 1:39:57 (Manuela Schär, SUI, 2017)

Paula Radcliffe

Fastest Britons in London

Men: Mo Farah 2:05:39 (2019)
Women: Paula Radcliffe 2:15:25 (2003)
Wheelchair men: David Weir 1:28:57 (2009)
Wheelchair women: Shelly Woods 1:46:31 (2011)

Prize money

Total elite races: US$ 79,260
Winners, men and women: US$ 30,000
Total wheelchair races: US$ 42,300
Wheelchair winners, men and women: US$ 20,000

Starters and finishers

Total number of finishers: 1,125,810
Most starters: 42,906 (2019)
Most finishers: 42,549 (2019)
Most wheelchair starters: 75 (2017)
Most wheelchair finishers: 63 (2017)

Oldest & youngest

Oldest winner (men): Allister Hutton (GBR) 1990 (35 years, 278 days)
Oldest winner (women): Joyce Smith, (GBR) 1982 (44)
Youngest winner (men): Sammy Wanjiru (KEN) 2009 (22)
Youngest winner (women): Brigid Kosgei (KEN) 2019 (25 years, 68 days)
Oldest finisher (men): Fauja Singh 2004 (93)
Oldest finisher (women): Jenny Wood-Allen 2002 (90)

Ever Presents: ten men have run every London Marathon (40 in total) – Chris Finill, Bill O’Connor, Charles Cousens, Malcolm Speake, Roger Low, David Walker, Ken Jones, Mike Peace, Terry Macey and Jeffrey Aston


First Official Charity: Sports Aid Foundation (1984)
Official Charity the Year 2021: Macmillan
Total raised for charities by London Marathon participants: more than £1 billion
Amount raised for charities in 2020: xx
Highest amount raised by an Official Charity the Year 2021: £4 million (Dementia Revolution, 2019)
Highest amount raised by a single participant: £2,330,159.38 by Steve Chalke in 2011
Amount granted by London Marathon Charitable Trust (LMCT): more than £92 million
Number of projects aided by LMCT: more than 1,460
Number of playing fields and facilities purchased by LMCT: nine

Celebrities & MPs

Fastest celebrity: Chris Newton (multiple world champion and triple Olympic medallist in road and track cycling), 2:39:27 (2015)
Fastest MP: Matthew Parris, 2:32:57 (1985)


Hottest Marathon Day: 2018 (24.2°C)
Coldest Marathon Day: 2004 (5.3°C)
Most humid: 1981 (94 per cent at 12 noon)
Least humid: 1996 (28 per cent at 12 noon)
Wettest: 2004 (12.4mm rain)
Sunniest: 2009 (12.3 hours of sunshine)


TV coverage: 197 countries
Date of 2022 London Marathon: Sunday 2 October

The London Marathon is a World Athletics Platinum Label Race