Register your place in the virtual 2022 TCS London Marathon!


Bank of America Chicago Marathon

In 1976 a small band of running enthusiasts met at the Metropolitan YMCA on LaSalle Street to plan a marathon in Chicago. They realised their vision on 25 September 1977, hosting 4,200 local runners in the first Chicago Marathon. It has since expanded to 45,000 attracting an estimated 1.7 million on-course spectators.

The flat course, which begins and ends in Chicago’s historic Grant Park, has elicited two men’s world records (by Steve Jones in 1984 and Khalid Khannouchi in 1999) and three women’s (in 2001 by Catherine Ndereba, 2002 by Paula Radcliffe and 2019 by Brigid Kosgei, who set the current mark of 2:14:04 last October).

Inaugural running: 1977

Largest field: 45,932 finishers (2019) 

Recent participation:

Years Finishers (Men/Women) 
2019 45,932 (24,608/21,324) 
2018 45,932 (23,946/20,654) 
2017 44,511 (22,908/21,603) 

Estimated number of spectators: 1.7 million 

Course records:

  • Men: 2:03:45 (Dennis Kimetto, KEN, 2013) 
  • Women: 2:14:04 (Brigid Kosgei, KEN, 2019) 

Most victories:

  • Men: 4 (Khalid Khannouchi MAR/USA)
  • Women: 2 (Rosa Mota POR, Lisa Weidenbach USA, Ritva Lemettinen FIN, Marian Sutton GBR, Joyce Chepchumba KEN, Catherine Ndereba KEN, Berhane Adere ETH, Florence Kiplagat KEN, Brigid Kosgei, KEN)
  • Runner prize purse:  US$606,400 (US$55,000 to men’s and women’s champions)

Wheelchair course records:

  • Men:1:26:56 (Heinz Frei, SUI, 2010)
  • Women: 1:39:15 (Tatyana McFadden, USA, 2017)

Most wheelchair victories:

  • Men: 5 (Kurt Fearnley, AUS)
  • Women: 8 (Tatyana McFadden, USA)
  • Wheelchair prize purse: US$134,500 (US$20,000 for male and female champions)

Organisation information:

Carey Pinkowski: Executive Race Director
Media contacts: Chris Lotsbom, Communications Director
Upcoming event dates: Sunday 10 October 2021