Register your place in the virtual 2022 TCS London Marathon!


The Abbott World Marathon Majors

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AbbottWMM) is a series of six of the largest and most-renowned marathons in the world: Tokyo Marathon, B.A.A. Boston Marathon, Virgin Money London Marathon, BMW BERLIN-MARATHON, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and TCS New York City Marathon.

The Elite Series: how it works

Encompassing an annual series and prize purse for elite runners and elite wheelchair athletes, Series XIII started at the 2019 Bank of America Chicago Marathon and has been extended due to the Covid-19 pandemic to conclude at the 2021 TCS New York City Marathon. The Olympic, Paralympic and World Championship marathons are also part of the race schedule in the years they are held, but do not begin or end a series.

The points system

Athletes earn the following points by placing among the top five at qualifying races during the Series:

  • 1st place – 25 points
  • 2nd place – 16 points
  • 3rd place – 9 points
  • 4th place – 4 points
  • 5th place – 1 point

The champions are the male and female athletes who score the most points during the Series. Points from a maximum of two races are scored. An athlete must start in two races over the cycle to be eligible. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes are scored. If there’s a tie, the athlete finishing first in any head-to-head competition is declared the winner. If their head-to-head record is level, the winner is the athlete who won more races during the period. If they are still level, the six Abbott World Marathon Majors race directors determine the champion. They may decide to award the title jointly.

Series XII champions were Eliud Kipchoge (KEN), Brigid Kosgei (KEN), Daniel Romanchuk (USA) and Manuela Schär (SUI). To view all the previous series winners, click here.

Athletes must comply with the AbbottWMM Code of Conduct

No athlete found guilty of any anti-doping rules enforced by World Athletics, World Anti-Doping Association, national federations, or any individual Abbott World Marathon Majors race is eligible to win the title.

The Wheelchair Series follows the same rules, but points from an athlete’s best four races count towards the total, or best five during years with Paralympic Games or World Championships.

Series XIII Qualifying Races (series extended due to Covid-19 pandemic)

  • 5 October, 2019 World Athletics World Championships (men’s race)*
  • 13 October 2019 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
  • 3 November 2019 TCS New York City Marathon
  • 1 March 2020 Tokyo Marathon
  • 4 October 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon
  • 7 August 2021 Olympic Games (women’s race)
  • 8 August, 2021 Olympic Games (men’s race)
  • 5 September, 2021 Paralympic Games (women’s race)
  • 5 September, 2021 Paralympic Games (men’s race)
  • 29 September 2021 BMW-BERLIN Marathon
  • 3 October 2021 Virgin Money London Marathon
  • 10 October 2021 Bank of America Chicago Marathon
  • 11 October 2021 B.A.A. Boston Marathon
  • 17 October 2021 Tokyo Marathon
  • 7 November TCS New York City Marathon

To view the latest leaderboards in the Series XIII, click here.

Flying 400

The Flying 400 is part of the Abbott World Marathon Majors Wheelchair Bonus Points competition that is included in all Majors for Series XIII. In London it will once again be a sprint over a 400m distance that will start just after the 20km point (12.5 miles) on the north side of Tower Bridge and finish on East Smithfield. The fastest athlete between these two points of the course in both the men’s and women’s wheelchair races will win $6,500 with the runner-up receiving $2,500 and third place $1,000. The fastest finisher of the 400m sprint will also be awarded eight bonus points in the Abbott World Marathon Majors Series XII rankings.

An athlete can win the additional eight bonus points at a maximum of three races during Series XIII. If an athlete has won three sprint competitions during Series XIII, s/he can still ‘block’ another athlete from getting the points by finishing first in another sprint competition.

Six Star Programme

The Abbott World Marathon Majors Six Star System is an online results hub that celebrates every runner who has completed from one to six of the races in the series and encourages them to ‘Reach for the Stars’. Runners completing all six earn the coveted Six Star Medal.

Abbott World Marathon Majors Age Group World Rankings

The Abbott World Marathon Majors launched the Abbott World Marathon Majors Wanda Age Group World Rankings in 2018 and the first Abbott World Marathon Major Wanda Age Group World Championships race will take place as part of the 2021 Virgin Money London Marathon (postponed from 2020 due to Covid-19). 

Age group categories for the Abbott World Marathon Majors Wanda Age Group World Championships:

  • 40-44
  • 45-49
  • 50-54
  • 55-59
  • 60-64
  • 65-69
  • 70-74
  • 75-79
  • 80+

For more information on the next round of qualifying and how to earn world ranking points, click here.

Abbott World Marathon Majors Global Run Club

The Abbott World Marathon Majors Global Run Club launched in August 2020 and aims to bring together the global community of marathon runners on a virtual platform. It kicked off with a series of autumn challenges to run alongside the virtual offerings of the Majors.

For more information, visit and