Find out how to take on the TCS London Marathon for charity 
TCS London Marathon participants on The Mall




New Spirit of the London Marathon Award winners announced

Jeremy Joseph, from London

Jeremy completed his twelfth London Marathon in October 2022 and has raised an incredible £792,500 for various charities over the course of his London Marathon running career.

He is the owner of G-A-Y and Heaven nightclubs in London and last year worked with the team at London Marathon Events (LME) to plan Rainbow Row – a new initiative for the 2022 event.

Rainbow Row transforms a stretch of the world-famous London Marathon route, just past the 21-mile mark, into a carnival atmosphere celebrating the vibrancy of the LGBTQIA+ community. Jeremy helped ensure the 2022 event was the most inclusive London Marathon yet.

On winning his Spirit of the London Marathon Award, Jeremy said: “I can’t tell you how honoured I am to receive this award. I am so grateful for how the TCS London Marathon has changed my life. To be involved in it and work with such an incredible team is an honour.

“I started running because I live with an eating disorder and it was my way of finding an alternative to the bad things I was doing to my body – but it wasn’t until I ran my first London Marathon that I realised the event was more than a race, but also 26.2 miles of the most incredible support and respect. The sheer amount of money we could raise for charities was gobsmacking – no other event gains this support from people sponsoring.

“Rainbow Row has taken my love for the London Marathon to a new level. To be able to be involved in setting up a section that aims to support the LGBTQIA+ community is one thing, but to think that more than 45,000 people will run through a section that will hopefully give every participant a lift and bring us all closer together in a very tough time is amazing. I’m honoured to be a part of it again this year – my thirteenth time. Thank you.”

Jeremy Joseph at the TCS London Marathon

Jeremy Joseph

Team Kerr, from Annahilt in Northern Ireland

Team Kerr is David, Sandra and Aaron – a father, mother and son from Northern Ireland who took part in the 2022 TCS London Marathon, with Aaron one of the first assisted wheelchair participants to complete the event.

The Kerrs worked with LME to help review changes to the rules so that wheelchair users who require help from others could take part. Aaron, 25, was able to take part for the first time in 2022 thanks to these rule changes and was supported by his parents.

David said: “When we started taking on marathons as a family in 2015, we never imagined that the 2022 TCS London Marathon would be our fiftieth marathon together.

“We have shared our message of inclusion for people with complex needs in running events all over the UK and Ireland and were delighted to be invited by LME to take part in the inclusion consultation process. This meant assisted wheelchair participants could officially take part in the marathon for the first time in 2022, enabling Aaron and other assisted wheelchair participants to enjoy the event alongside everyone else.

“The day itself was incredible – we loved every minute and the support from both the crowd and our fellow runners was phenomenal. To hear Aaron’s name being called out for the whole 26.2 miles was very emotional and even overwhelming at times.

“To find out we had been chosen as one of the recipients of the Spirit of the London Marathon Awards was a lovely surprise and very humbling. It will take pride of place in our home and only add to the wonderful memories from that very special day.”

Team Kerr at the TCS London Marathon

Team Kerr

The 2022 winners will be presented with their awards at the 2023 TCS London Marathon Running Show in April.

Previous Spirit of the London Marathon Award winners:

  • Aaron Plummer
  • Barbara Ralph
  • Charlie Dark
  • Charlie Guenigault
  • Chris Moon
  • Claire Lomas
  • Claude Umuhire
  • Dave Heeley
  • David Weir
  • Deo Kato
  • Dick Beardsley and Inge Simonsen
  • Elliott Brock
  • Fauja Singh
  • Gina Little
  • Haroon Mota
  • Helen Williams
  • James Ingham
  • Jane Smith
  • Jill Tyrell
  • Jo Gennari
  • Joyce Smith
  • Kathrine Switzer
  • Laura Hughes
  • Matthew Rees and David Wyeth
  • Michael Watson
  • North Kensington and Paddington Red Watch firefighters
  • Scott Mitchell
  • Steve Chalke MBE
  • Paula Radcliffe
  • Rhian Burke
  • Roy Webber
  • Simon Kindleysides
  • Stephen Lawrence’s Team
  • Tanni-Grey Thompson
  • Vicky Lawrence
  • Zamzam Farah