Nikita den Boer




Best wheelchair racers in the world return

That buzz of racing on the streets around the world is incredible and we can’t wait to get back to some sort of normality and get back to racing.

David Weir

Eight-time London Marathon champion

In the women’s race, London Marathon course record holder Manuela Schär (SUI), who had to settle for silver last year behind den Boer, returns looking to add to her tally of two victories on the streets of London. Tatyana McFadden (USA), who won the title four times in a row from 2013 to 2016, and Madison de Rozario (AUS), who took the title in 2018, will also be on the Start Line.

2020 champion den Boer said: “Winning last year’s race was a fantastic experience. Not only did I win, but I broke the 30-year-old Dutch record by 10 minutes. I never expected to be so fast. Now I am looking forward to returning and racing on the traditional course.”

Winning last year’s race was a fantastic experience. Not only did I win, but I broke the 30-year-old Dutch record by 10 minutes.

Nikita den Boer

2020 Virgin Money London Marathon women's wheelchair champion

The Virgin Money London Marathon will be the second race in the unprecedented season of 2021 Abbott World Marathon Majors with the finale of Series XIII taking place over a six-week period starting with the BMW Berlin Marathon on Sunday 26 September and taking in London, Chicago, Boston, Tokyo and New York. The Paralympic marathon, which takes place on Sunday 5 September, will also be part of the Series XIII rankings which are currently headed by Romanchuk and Schär.

The wheelchair racers, in particular, are looking forward to this thrilling run of events that will see them go head-to-head on an almost weekly basis.

Weir said: “The Abbott World Marathon Majors races this Autumn are going to be fast and intense and, for me, the Paralympics will actually be the warm-up, which is strange to say to be honest. It is going to be the toughest run of competitions I’ve experienced and I think all the races will go right to the nail.”

Men's wheelchairs
  • Daniel Romanchuck (USA)
  • David Weir (GBR)
  • Marcel Hug (SUI)
  • Brent Lakatos (CAN)
  • Jordi Madera Jimenez (ESP)
  • Kota Hokinoue (JAP)
  • Hiroki Nishida (JAP)
  • Sho Wantanabe (JAP)
  • Tomoki Suzuki (JAP)
  • Aaron Pike (USA)
  • Rafael Botello Jimenez (ESP)
  • John Charles Smith (GBR)
  • Joshua George (USA)
  • Patrick Monahan (IRL)
  • Simon Lawson (GBR)
  • Jake Lappin (AUS)
  • James Senbata (USA)
Women's wheelchairs
  • Manuela Schär (SUI)
  • Nikita den Boer (NED)
  • Tatyana McFadden (USA)
  • Susannah Scaroni (USA)
  • Aline Rocha (BRA)
  • Shelly Woods (GBR)
  • Vanessa De Souza (BRA)
  • Madison de Rozario (AUS)
  • Jenna Fesemyer (USA)
  • Michelle Wheeler (USA)
  • Margriet Van Den Broek (NED)