Tigst Assefa




Incredible elite women’s field target world record at the 2024 TCS London Marathon

Three of the top four fastest women in history will spearhead a charge to set a new women’s-only world record at the 2024 TCS London Marathon. 

The challenge will be led by Ethiopia’s Tigst Assefa, who became the new world record holder when she ran an incredible 2:11:53 at last September’s BMW Berlin Marathon, obliterating the previous best mark of 2:14:04 set by Brigid Kosgei (KEN) in 2019. 

Assefa and Kosgei (KEN) are among a star-studded list of runners confirmed for the 2024 TCS London Marathon who are targeting smashing the women’s-only world record for the marathon distance which has stood for seven years since Mary Keitany (KEN) ran 2:17:01 at the 2017 London Marathon. 

Others with eyes on the record include Ruth Chepngetich, the fourth-fastest woman of all time (2:14:18), Peres Jepchirchir (KEN), the reigning Olympic champion, and Yalemzerf Yehualaw (ETH), the 2022 TCS London Marathon champion. 

Pacemakers will be tasked with keeping the leading women on track for the women’s-only world record, which is possible at the TCS London Marathon as the elite women run a separate race to the elite men and masses. 

Hugh Brasher, Event Director of the TCS London Marathon, said: “We are in a golden age of women’s marathon running. When Paula Radcliffe ran her incredible world record of 2:15:25 at the 2003 London Marathon, we had to wait 16 years for Brigid Kosgei to beat it. But since then, a further four women have run faster than Paula’s time including Tigst Assefa, who lowered the world record even further with her stunning run in Berlin last year. Despite this, the women’s-only world record of 2:17:01, set by the great Mary Keitany here at the London Marathon in 2017, has amazingly stayed intact.  

“However, I suspect that with Assefa, Kosgei and the likes of Ruth Chepngetich, Peres Jepchirchir and Yalemzerf Yehualaw in the field and where a total of ten women have run under 2 hours 17 minutes and 30 seconds, Keitany’s world record is going to be under serious threat at the 2024 TCS London Marathon.” 

The elite men’s race is headlined by reigning TCS New York City Marathon champion Tamirat Tola (ETH), the seventh-fastest man in history Mosinet Geremew (ETH, 2:02:55) and Alexander Mutiso Munyao (KEN) who was runner-up at the 2023 Valencia Marathon in a time of 2:03:11. Also confirmed is the 2023 TCS London Marathon runner-up Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN), and multiple world champion on the track – and the third-fastest marathoner in history – Kenenisa Bekele (ETH) who set a new world record in the masters category at the 2023 Valencia Marathon when he ran 2:04:19 aged 41. 

From a British perspective, Emile Cairess returns after becoming the third-fastest Brit in history when he ran 2:08:07 on his TCS London Marathon debut last year. He will be joined by Callum Hawkins, who has twice finished fourth at the World Championships and will be making his first appearance at the London Marathon since setting his PB of 2:08:14 at the 2019 event. 

Making his debut over the marathon distance is Marc Scott, the 2022 World Indoor Championships bronze medallist over 3000m, while Mahamed Mahamed will run for the first time at the TCS London Marathon after an encouraging debut at the Valencia Marathon last year where he ran 2:08:40. 

British women in this year’s race include Becky Briggs and Alice Wright, who both represented Great Britain in the marathon at the 2022 European Championships. 

The 2024 TCS London Marathon takes place on Sunday 21 April. 

Elite women 

  • Tigst ASSEFA (ETH, 2:11:53 WR) 
  • Brigid KOSGEI (KEN, 2:14:04) 
  • Ruth CHEPNGETICH (KEN, 2:14:18) 
  • Tigist KETEMA (ETH, 2:16:07) 
  • Almaz AYANA (ETH, 2:16:22) 
  • Megertu ALEMU (ETH, 2:17:09) 
  • Peres JEPCHIRCHIR (KEN, 2:17:16) 
  • Joyciline JEPKOSGEI (KEN, 2:17:23) 
  • Yalemzerf YEHUALAW (ETH, 2:17:23) 
  • Sheila CHEPKIRUI (KEN, 2:17:29) 
  • Tsige HAILESLASE (ETH, 2:22:10) 
  • Susanna SULLIVAN (USA, 2:24:27) 
  • Manon TRAPP (FRA, 2:25:48) 
  • Becky BRIGGS (GBR, 2:29:04) 
  • Alice WRIGHT (GBR, 2:29:08) 
  • Anya CULLING (GBR, 2:34:45) 
  • Rachel HODGKINSON (GBR, 2:34:46) 
  • Helen GAUNT (GBR, 2:35:38) 
  • Mhairi MACLENNAN (GBR, Debut) 
  • Lucy REID (GBR, Debut) 

Elite men 

  • Kenenisa BEKELE (ETH, 2:01:41) 
  • Mosinet GEREMEW (ETH, 2:02:55) 
  • Alexander Mutiso MUNYAO (KEN, 2:03:11) 
  • Tamirat TOLA (ETH, 2:03:39) 
  • Dawit WOLDE (ETH, 2:03:48) 
  • Kinde ATANAW (ETH, 2:03:51) 
  • Leul GEBRESILASE (ETH, 2:04:02) 
  • Geoffrey KAMWOROR (KEN, 2:04:23) 
  • Seifu TURA (ETH, 2:04:29) 
  • Daniel DO NASCIMENTO (BRA, 2:04:51) 
  • Addisu GOBENA (ETH, 2:05:01) 
  • Milkesa MENGESHA (ETH, 2:05:29) 
  • Henok TESFAY (ERI, 2:07:12) 
  • Emile CAIRESS (GBR, 2:08:07) 
  • Callum HAWKINS (GBR, 2:08:14) 
  • Hassan CHAHDI (FRA, 2:08:19) 
  • Mahamed MAHAMED (GBR, 2:08:40) 
  • Brian SHRADER (USA, 2:09:46) 
  • Weynay GHEBRESILASIE (GBR, 2:09:50) 
  • Andrew HEYES (GBR, 2:13:52) 
  • Alexander LEPRETRE (GBR, 2:15:01) 
  • Hiko Tonosa HASO (IRL, 2:15:01) 
  • Norman SHREEVE (GBR, 2:16:17) 
  • Alex MILNE (GBR, 2:16:30) 
  • William MYCROFT (GBR, 2:17:02) 
  • David BISHOP (GBR, 2:17:06) 
  • Adam BOWDEN (GBR, 2:17:18) 
  • Kieran WALKER (GBR, 2:17:30) 
  • Alexander LAWRENCE (GBR, 2:17:41) 
  • Daniel HAMILTON (GBR, 2:17:59) 
  • Dominic JONES (GBR, 2:18:15) 
  • Fraser STEWART (GBR, 2:18:34) 
  • Tom FRITH (GBR, 2:18:35) 
  • James HOAD (GBR, 2:18:38) 
  • Ryan THOMSON (GBR, 2:18:46) 
  • Martin HOARE (IRL, 2:18:57) 
  • Charlie SANDISON (GBR, 2:19:22) 
  • Paulos SURAFEL (GBR, No Time) 
  • Daniel MATEIKO (KEN, No Time) 
  • Jacob ALLEN (GBR, Debut) 
  • Kieran CLEMENTS (GBR, Debut) 
  • Marc SCOTT (GBR, Debut) 
  • Sean TOBIN (IRL, Debut)