Manuela Schar races at the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon




Schar wins charity prize

The 40th Race Highlights

  • Sarah Hall crosses the finish line at the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon
  • Brent Lakatos (CAN) wins the Men’s Elite Wheelchair Race on The Mall
  • Mosinet Geremew (ETH) takes a drink
  • Brigid Kosgei (KEN) runs along The mall during the Elite Women's Race
  • David Weir (GBR) during the Elite Wheelchair Race
  • Shura Kitata (ETH) crosses the finish line to win the Elite Men's Race
  • Mosinet Geremew (ETH) and Eliud Kipchoge (KEN) are tucked in behind the pace runners
  • Peter Herzog (AUT) lies on The Mall after finishing the Elite Men's Race
  • Sarah Hall crosses the finish line at the 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon

Sara Hall (USA) overtakes Ruth Chepngetich (KEN) in the final stages to place second in the Elite Women's Race.

In the men’s race, 2020 Virgin Money London Marathon champion Brent Lakatos of Canada also won the most prize money in the AWMM accumulator.

Lakatos won sprints two, three and four to earn $6,000 in total. His chosen charity to receive the same figure thanks to a donation from Abbott was also Wheelpower.

Marcel Hug, who finished third overall in the men’s race, won $4,000 by winning sprint one. His chosen charity was the Weir Archer Academy.

The Weir Archer Academy was created by eight-time London Marathon champion David Weir, who was runner-up in the 2020 race, and his coach Jenny Archer. Their ambition is to pass on their knowledge, experience, and enjoyment of the benefits of sport to the next generation of disabled people.

Wheelpower is the national charity for wheelchair sport based at Stoke Mandeville Hospital, the birthplace of the Paralympics. It provides opportunities for disabled people to play sport and lead healthy active lives.