Find out how to take on the 2023 TCS London Marathon for charity

Abbott World Marathon Majors

About the Abbott World Marathon Majors

The Abbott World Marathon Majors (AbbottWMM) is a series of six of the largest and most renowned marathons in the world – the Tokyo Marathon, B.A.A. Boston Marathon, TCS London Marathon, BMW Berlin Marathon, Bank of America Chicago Marathon and TCS New York City Marathon. 

The Elite Series

Encompassing an annual series and prize purse for elite runners and elite wheelchair athletes, Series XIV started at the 2022 Tokyo Marathon and will conclude at the 2022 TCS New York City Marathon. The Olympic, Paralympic and World Championship marathons are also part of the race schedule in the years they are held, but do not begin or end a series. 

The points system

Athletes earn the following points by placing among the top five at qualifying races during the Series:

  • 1st place – 25 points
  • 2nd place – 16 points
  • 3rd place – 9 points
  • 4th place – 4 points
  • 5th place – 1 point

The champions are the male and female athletes who score the most points during the Series. Points from a maximum of two races are scored. An athlete must start in two races over the cycle to be eligible. If an athlete earns points in more than two events, the athlete’s highest two finishes are scored. If there’s a tie, the athlete finishing first in any head-to-head competition is declared the winner. If their head-to-head record is level, the winner is the athlete who won more races during the period. If they are still level, the six AbbottWMM race directors determine the champion. They may decide to award the title jointly.

Series XIII champions

  • Men’s elite: Albert Korir (KEN)
  • Women’s elite joint champions: Peres Jepchirchir (KEN) and Joyciline Jepkosgei (KEN)
  • Men’s wheelchair: Marcel Hug (SUI)
  • Women’s wheelchair: Manuela Schär (SUI)

To view all the previous Series winners, click here.

Athletes must comply with the AbbottWMM Code of Conduct. No athlete found guilty of any anti-doping rules enforced by World Athletics, World Anti-Doping Association, national federations, or any individual AbbottWMM race is eligible to win the title.

The Wheelchair Series follows the same rules, but points from an athlete’s best four races count towards the total, or best five during years with Paralympic Games or World Championships.

Series XIV qualifying races

  • Tokyo Marathon – 6 March 2022
  • B.A.A. Boston Marathon – 18 April 2022
  • BMW Berlin Marathon – 25 September 2022 
  • TCS London Marathon – 2 October 2022 
  • Bank of America Chicago Marathon – 9 October 2022 
  • TCS New York City Marathon – 6 November 2022

To view the latest leaderboards in Series XIV, click here.

Flying 400

The Flying 400 is part of the AbbottWMM Wheelchair Bonus Points competition and is included in all six races for Series XIV. In London it will once again be a sprint over a 400m distance that will start just after the 20km point (12.5 miles) on the north side of Tower Bridge and finish on East Smithfield. The fastest athlete between these two points of the course in both the men’s and women’s wheelchair races will win $6,500, with the runner-up receiving $2,500 and third place $1,000. The fastest finisher of the 400m sprint will also be awarded eight bonus points in the AbbottWMM Series XIV rankings.

An athlete can win the additional eight bonus points at a maximum of three races during Series XIV. If an athlete has won three sprint competitions during Series XIV, s/he can still ‘block’ another athlete from getting the points by finishing first in another sprint competition.

Six Star programme

The AbbottWMM Six Star system is an online results hub that celebrates every runner who has completed from one to six of the races and encourages them to 'Reach for the Stars'. Runners that complete all six races earn the coveted Six Star Medal.

AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings

The AbbottWMM launched the AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Rankings in 2018. The second AbbottWMM Wanda Age Group World Championship race will take place as part of the 2022 TCS London Marathon.

For more information on the next round of qualifying and how to earn world ranking points, click here.

AbbottWMM Global Run Club

The AbbottWMM Global Run Club launched in August 2020 and aims to bring together the global community of marathon runners on a virtual platform, supporting every runner on their Six Star journey and beyond.

For more information, visit and