Find out how to take on the 2023 TCS London Marathon for charity

MP participants

Members of Parliament taking part in the 2022 TCS London Marathon

This year, 11 Members of Parliament from across the political divide will be taking part in the TCS London Marathon on Sunday 2 October 2022.

Of the six Conservatives taking part are former Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt (Southwest Surrey), who is making his marathon debut. At the other end of the experience spectrum is Conservative Alun Cairns (Vale of Glamorgan), who will be participating for a sixth year in a row and who was the fastest MP in 2021 when he ran the course in 3:32:56.

There are three Labour MPs taking part and one each from the Liberal Democrats and the Scottish National Party. The Lib Dem representative is the party’s former leader Tim Farron (Westmorland and Lonsdale). 

MP records

The fastest London Marathon time ever recorded by a sitting male MP is 2:32:57, which was set by Matthew Parris (Con, Derbyshire West) in 1985. The fastest time by a sitting female MP was set by Liberal Democrat Jo Swinson in 2011 when she finished in 3:57:00. 

Having run 10 apiece, Dick Douglas, Gary Waller and Alistair Burt jointly hold the record for the highest number of London Marathons completed as an MP.

MPs participating in the 2022 event

  • Duncan Baker (Con, North Norfolk)
  • Alun Cairns (Con, Vale of Glamorgan)
  • James Duddridge (Con, Rochford and Southend East)
  • Tim Farron (Lib Dem, Westmorland and Lonsdale)
  • Jeremy Hunt (Con, Southwest Surrey)
  • Dan Jarvis (Lab, Barnsley Central)
  • David Linden (SNP, Glasgow East)
  • Charlotte Nichols (Lab, Warrington North)
  • Alex Norris (Lab, Nottingham North)
  • David Simmonds (Con, Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner)
  • James Wild (Con, Northwest Norfolk)