Register your place in the virtual 2022 TCS London Marathon!
 

TCS Mini London Marathon championships

Launchpad for the athletics stars of the future

At London Marathon Events we’re committed to supporting distance running from playground to podium – which is why the TCS Mini London Marathon championships will be back in 2022!

Over the years the Mini Marathon has launched the careers of international athletics stars including Tokyo Olympics medallists Laura Muir, Keely Hodgkinson and Josh Kerr – not to mention the great Sir Mo Farah – who won the Mini three times.

Tokyo Paralympics medallists Hannah Cockroft and Kare Adenegan are also both former winners of the Mini Marathon, along with the mighty Paralympian gold medallist David Weir – who has won the London Marathon a record eight times – and two-time London Marathon winner Shelly Woods.

Following this great tradition, we’re again offering young athletes the chance to compete among the best new talent in British road racing via the 2022 TCS Mini London Marathon championships, which will take place on Saturday 1 October and cover a 2.6K course.

About the TCS Mini London Marathon championships

The championships kick-start what’s set to be an amazing day on Saturday 1 October 2022 – the children and young people taking part will be the first people to cross the world-famous TCS London Marathon Finish Line this year (yes, even before the adult elite athletes!). The championship participants will set off first in the morning, from approximately 09:00, followed by the waves that will make up the rest of the event.

TCS Mini London Marathon championships age groups

The age groups for the 2022 TCS Mini London Marathon championships are:

  • Under-13 Boys and Girls 
  • Under-15 Boys and Girls
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Ambulant
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Ambulant

Please note: eligibility for each age category in the 2022 event is based on the participant’s age on 31 August 2022, as follows:

  • Under-17: must be aged 15 or 16 on 31 August 2022
  • Under-15: must be aged 13 or 14 on 31 August 2022
  • Under-13: must be aged 12 on 31 August or at least 11 years old on the day of the event

In the under-14 categories for wheelchair or ambulant athletes, participants must be aged 12 or 13 on 31 August 2022, or at least 11 years old on the day of the event.

Qualifying for the TCS Mini London Marathon championships

London borough, region and home nation has a Team Manager who is responsible for selecting a team to take part in the TCS Mini London Marathon championships.

To find out more about qualifying, get in touch with the Team Manager for your London borough, region or home nation via the details listed below.

Mobile users: scroll across to see the full list

Borough/Region Team Team Manager name Email
Borough Barnet Jeremy Sothcott jeremy.sothcott@btinternet.com
Borough Bexley Ken Burkett bexleylondonmm@gmail.com
Borough Brent Chris Bailey chrissybaileyboy@yahoo.com
Borough Bromley Louise Hills louise.hills@mytimeactive.co.uk
Borough Barking and Dagenham Emma Gillan emma.gillan@lbbd.gov.uk
Borough Camden Ben Dorsett Ben.Dorsett@camden.gov.uk
Borough City of London Hannah Bennett Hannah.Bennett@fusion-lifestyle.com
Borough City of London Hannah Bennett Hannah.Bennett@fusion-lifestyle.com
Borough City of Westminster Ian Bannister ibannister@westminster.gov.uk
Borough Croydon Sports Development sdo@croydon.gov.uk
Borough Ealing Jo Valks valksj@ealing.gov.uk
Borough Ealing Jo Valks valksj@ealing.gov.uk
Borough Enfield Juliette Tive-Hive Juliette.Tive-Hive@enfield.gov.uk
Borough Greenwich Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Hackney Lynn Humphrey lynnalex.humphrey@hackney.gov.uk
Borough Hammersmith & Fulham Debbie Peters-Mill debbie.peters-mill@lbhf.gov.uk
Borough Haringey Michael Omojudi Omojudi27@hotmail.co.uk
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Havering Claire Richards clairerichards6@tiscali.co.uk
Borough Hillingdon Mekaya Gittens ktruelove@hillingdon.gov.uk
Borough Hounslow Jonathan Barbour Jonathan.Barbour@lampton360.co.uk
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Islington Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Kensington & Chelsea Rebecca Stone becca@londonsportstrust.org
Borough Islington Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Kingston Jim Desmond jim.desmond@btinternet.com
Borough Lambeth Rodney Craig RCraig@lambeth.gov.uk
Borough Lewisham Maya Onyett Maya.Onyett@lewisham.gov.uk
Borough Merton Emma Boyd emma.boyd@merton.gov.uk
Borough Newham Lisa Brivati Lisa.Brivati@activenewham.org.uk
Borough Redbridge Darren Trippick darren.trippick@visionrcl.org.uk
Borough Richmond Lizzy Roberts Lizzy.Roberts@richmond.gov.uk
Borough Southwark Jardine Finn Jardine.Finn@southwark.gov.uk
Borough Sutton Maureen Hancock nmja.hancock@live.co.uk
Borough Tower Hamlets Shenneth Brereton shenneth.brereton@towerhamlets.gov.uk
Borough Waltham Forest Dean Roberts Dean.Roberts@walthamforest.gov.uk
Borough Wandsworth Grace Alleyne galleyne@enablelc.org
Region East David Pring davidpring@conac.org.uk
Region East Midlands John Skevington john.skevington@hotmail.com
Region North West Neil Canham neilcanham@hotmail.com
Region Northern Ireland Rory Friel roryfriel56@gmail.com
Region Scotland Neil Renton neilrenton@sky.com
Region South East Caroline Bird carolinebird68@msn.com
Region South West Sonya Ellis sonyaellis2@gmail.com
Region Wales Steve Mitchell ste-mitchell@hotmail.co.uk
Region West Midlands Stuart Paul westmidschair@englandathletics.org
Region Yorkshire and Humberside Charlotte Slack yhminimarathon@hotmail.co.uk

Wheelchair and ambulant athlete entry

Young athletes who use wheelchairs or have a physical or sensory impairment can take part in the TCS Mini London Marathon championships in the following categories:

  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Ambulant
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Ambulant

Event criteria

  • All wheelchair participants must be able to self-propel themselves over 2.6K within the time limit of 45 minutes
  • Participants must wear a helmet and gloves and can either use a standard, sports or racing chair
  • There will be opportunities for athletes to be fully classified before the race, which we would encourage you to do before you apply

How to enter

For further details on taking part in these categories please contact Michelle Weltman, the TCS Mini London Marathon Wheelchair & Ambulant/Para Athlete Coordinator, paraathletes@londonmarathonevents.co.uk

Event Guide

We will send all TCS Mini London Marathon championships Team Managers an Event Guide – containing all the information they need to have a trouble-free Event Day – which they can share with their athletes. In addition full details of the route, timings and kit will be available in the run-up to the event.

Inspiring activity

The TCS Mini London Marathon is all about inspiring children and young people of all ages and abilities to be physically active. Regular exercise has a positive impact on children’s physical health and mental wellbeing and can help start a habit that stays with them for the rest of their lives. Everyone feels happier after they’ve been for a run!

Other ways children can be part of the world’s biggest marathon…