Find out how to take on the 2023 TCS London Marathon for charity
 

TCS Mini London Marathon championships

About the TCS Mini London Marathon championships

We’re committed to supporting distance running from playground to podium – which is why the TCS Mini London Marathon championships was back with a bang in 2022! 

The children and young people who took part in the championships this year were the first to cross the famous TCS London Marathon Finish Line this year, finishing even before the adult elites – that's because the event took place the day before the TCS London Marathon.

The lucky winners of the championships were also awarded their medals by none other than marathon world record holder Eliud Kipchoge!

Kipchoge awarding medals

Our 2022 winners!

Well done to everyone who took part in the TCS Mini London Marathon championships on Saturday 1 October – it was great to see you all! There were some amazing performances on the day from the winners in each of our age categories.

Event Guide and map

We've uploaded the TCS Mini London Marathon championships Team Managers Event Guide to the registration portal. It contains key information for a trouble-free Race Day that you can share with your team. You can also download a map of the route below.

TCS Mini London Marathon championships age groups

The age groups for the TCS Mini London Marathon championships are:

  • Under-13 Boys and Girls
  • Under-15 Boys and Girls
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Ambulant
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Ambulant

Please note: eligibility for each age category in the 2022 event was based on the participant’s age on Wednesday 31 August 2022, as follows:

  • Under-17: must have been aged 15 or 16 on Wednesday 31 August 2022
  • Under-15: must have been aged 13 or 14 on Wednesday 31 August 2022
  • Under-13: must have been aged 12 on Wednesday 31 August or at least aged 11 on the day of the event

In the under-14 categories for wheelchair or ambulant athletes, participants must be have been aged 12 or 13 on Wednesday 31 August 2022, or at least 11 years old on the day of the event.

Launchpad for future stars of athletics

Over the years the Mini London Marathon has launched the careers of international athletics stars including Laura Muir, Keely Hodgkinson and Josh Kerr – not to mention Sir Mo Farah, who won the Mini Marathon three times.

Paralympic medallists Hannah Cockroft and Kare Adenegan are also both former winners of the Mini Marathon, along with Paralympic gold medallist David Weir – who has won the London Marathon a record eight times – and two-time London Marathon winner Shelly Woods.

Qualifying for the TCS Mini London Marathon championships

Each London borough, region and home nation has a Team Manager who is responsible for selecting a team to take part in the TCS Mini London Marathon championships. Please get in touch with the relevant Team Manager via the details below to find out more about qualifying. 

Mobile users: scroll across to see the full list

Borough/Region Team Team Manager name Email
Borough Barnet Jeremy Sothcott jeremy.sothcott@btinternet.com
Borough Bexley Ken Burkett bexleylondonmm@gmail.com
Borough Brent Chris Bailey chrissybaileyboy@yahoo.com
Borough Bromley Louise Hills louise.hills@mytimeactive.co.uk
Borough Barking and Dagenham Emma Gillan emma.gillan@lbbd.gov.uk
Borough Camden Ben Dorsett Ben.Dorsett@camden.gov.uk
Borough City of London Hannah Bennett Hannah.Bennett@fusion-lifestyle.com
Borough City of London Hannah Bennett Hannah.Bennett@fusion-lifestyle.com
Borough City of Westminster Ian Bannister ibannister@westminster.gov.uk
Borough Croydon Sports Development sdo@croydon.gov.uk
Borough Ealing Jo Valks valksj@ealing.gov.uk
Borough Ealing Jo Valks valksj@ealing.gov.uk
Borough Enfield Active Enfield sport@enfield.gov.uk
Borough Greenwich Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Hackney Lynn Humphrey lynnalex.humphrey@hackney.gov.uk
Borough Hammersmith & Fulham Debbie Peters-Mill debbie.peters-mill@lbhf.gov.uk
Borough Haringey Michael Omojudi Omojudi27@hotmail.co.uk
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Havering Claire Richards clairerichards6@tiscali.co.uk
Borough Hillingdon Mekaya Gittens ktruelove@hillingdon.gov.uk
Borough Hounslow Jonathan Barbour Jonathan.Barbour@lampton360.co.uk
Borough Harrow Mike Lepps mikelepps@btinternet.com
Borough Islington Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Kensington & Chelsea Rebecca Stone becca@londonsportstrust.org
Borough Islington Daniel Bank Daniel.Bank@GLL.ORG
Borough Kingston Jim Desmond jim.desmond@btinternet.com
Borough Lambeth Rodney Craig RCraig@lambeth.gov.uk
Borough Lewisham Maya Onyett Maya.Onyett@lewisham.gov.uk
Borough Merton Emma Boyd emma.boyd@merton.gov.uk
Borough Newham Lisa Brivati Lisa.Brivati@activenewham.org.uk
Borough Redbridge Darren Trippick darren.trippick@visionrcl.org.uk
Borough Richmond Lizzy Roberts Lizzy.Roberts@richmond.gov.uk
Borough Southwark Jardine Finn Jardine.Finn@southwark.gov.uk
Borough Sutton Maureen Hancock nmja.hancock@live.co.uk
Borough Tower Hamlets Elizabeth Venables emvenables@gmail.com
Borough Waltham Forest Dean Roberts Dean.Roberts@walthamforest.gov.uk
Borough Wandsworth Grace Alleyne galleyne@enablelc.org
Region East David Pring davidpring@conac.org.uk
Region East Midlands John Skevington john.skevington@hotmail.com
Region North East Tom Millmore  millmore05@aol.com
Region North West Neil Canham neilcanham@hotmail.com
Region Northern Ireland Rory Friel roryfriel56@gmail.com
Region Scotland Neil Renton neilrenton@sky.com
Region South East Caroline Bird carolinebird68@msn.com
Region South West Sonya Ellis sonyaellis2@gmail.com
Region Wales Steve Mitchell steve.mitchell@welshathletics.org
Region West Midlands Stuart Paul westmidschair@englandathletics.org
Region Yorkshire and Humberside Charlotte Slack yhminimarathon@hotmail.co.uk

Wheelchair and ambulant athlete entry

Young athletes who use wheelchairs or have a physical or sensory impairment can take part in the TCS Mini London Marathon championships in the following categories:

  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Wheelchair
  • Under-14 Boys and Girls Ambulant
  • Under-17 Boys and Girls Ambulant


Event criteria

  • All wheelchair participants must be able to self-propel themselves over 2.6K within the time limit of 45 minutes
  • Participants must wear a helmet and gloves and can either use a standard, sports or racing chair
  • There will be opportunities for athletes to be fully classified before the race, which we would encourage you to do before you apply


How to enter

For further details on taking part in these categories, please contact Michelle Weltman, the TCS Mini London Marathon Wheelchair and Ambulant/Para Athlete Coordinator, at paraathletes@londonmarathonevents.co.uk.

Inspiring activity

The TCS Mini London Marathon is all about inspiring children and young people of all ages and abilities to be physically active. Regular exercise has a positive impact on children’s physical health and mental wellbeing and can help start a habit that stays with them for the rest of their lives!

Other ways children can take part